Cantamaths 2023

Kia ora koutou, yesterday I competed in Cantamaths 2023. For those of you who don’t know what Cantamaths is, it is a mathematics competition done in Christchurch by year 6 to 10 students. A school can decide to put forward a team of 4 to enter. They have to answer as many very challenging maths questions as possible in 30 mins. Each question is worth 5 points and first to 100 wins. I found Cantamaths very hard and I was quite nervous. In my team there was: Jakob, Olivia, Lyshia (our runner) and me.

As soon as the competition started, it was a mad rush to see who would finish first. Some groups were super fast, by the time we had got 15 points, some groups had got 80 points! Our team worked really well together, in the last 5 mins we got another 15 points. At the end we were told that we had got 35 points, which is the average score. This is also pretty good for our first time.

As I went home, even though my brain was dead, I couldn’t help but to do maths with the things around me! I am really happy that I was invited to join the group as I learnt a lot of things from this and the practises Nogo had to prepare us with while preparing for the big day. What is the biggest academic achievement that you have completed? Tell me in the comments below!

Thanks for reading,

Heath :7(_)3